Alumni Databases
You may access these e-resources only from this page. Trying to access them from other places like the catalogue or Google will fail because your account will not be recognized.
American Film Scripts
Film Studies
An index of film scripts providing access to many previously unpublished screenplays.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
First Nations Studies History
This resource provides an insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.
American West
First Nations Studies History
Consisting of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources of early pioneers, explorers, and hunters, including the original manuscript journal and papers of James Audubon.
Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980
Black Studies History Political Science
These previously restricted letters, diplomatic dispatches, reports, trial papers, activists’ biographies and first-hand accounts of events give unprecedented access to the history of South Africa’s apartheid regime. The files explore the relationship of the international community with South Africa and chart increasing civil unrest against a backdrop of waning colonialism in Africa and mounting world condemnation. This resource is in three sections: 1948-1966, 1967-1975 and 1976-1980.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Gender Studies History Political Science Women’s Studies
Provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Black Drama
Theatre
Full text plays written from the mid-1800s to the present from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Black Thought and Culture
Art Black Studies History Literature Music Political Science
Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Genealogy History Women’s Studies
Spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
CAIRN, Bouquet General
Multi-disciplinary
A collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines.
Cambridge University Press Journals
Multi-disciplinary
Leading, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Canadian Electronic Library Canadian Publishers Collection
Multi-disciplinary
Contains English and French e-book titles, including major Canadian university presses, among them the University of Toronto Press, the UBC Press, Les Presses de l'Université du Québec, and McGill-Queen's University Press.
Canadian Science Publishing
Science
A Canadian Science Publishing flagship suite of award-winning international publications. The journals cover a broad range of scientific disciplines.
China, America and the Pacific
History
This database explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China, and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.
China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
History
The collection contains a range of materials documenting western interaction with China.
Classical Scores Library
Music
Contains important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961
History
This database contains important papers generated by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices relating to Canada, the United States, and the Caribbean.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910, Online
Gender Studies Sociology
Original manuscript and printed material from the Bodleian Library, Oxford.
Drama Online
Humanities
An award-winning digital library that has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It combines exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations and audio plays.
Early Canadiana Online
History
Books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history from the first European settlers to the early 20th Century.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Anthropology First Nations Studies History
Features pages of letters diaries memoires and accounts for early encounters.
e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collection
Humanities Social Sciences
The e-Duke Journals Scholarly Collections provide online access to Duke University Press journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Eighteenth Century Journals
History
Rare journals printed between c1680 and 1816, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political, and literary life.
Erudit Scholarly Journals
Multi-disciplinary
Access to Canadian peer-reviewed journals, published mainly in French. Includes a few bilingual and English titles.
Euclid Prime
History Sociology Women’s Studies
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history. It addressed 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature.
Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920
History Sociology Women’s Studies
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history. It addressed 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature.
First World War
History
This portal presents primary source documents on the personal experiences of men and women, recruitment, and the development and the various forms of propaganda. The documents feature in self-contained modules, Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.
Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980
History Political Science
The documents combine a variety of sources on developments relating to China during this time period.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange
Business History
This resource provides access to a wide range of material associated with the history of 15 commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, oil, opium, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, wine and spirits. The material also covers other commodities including beef, cheese, coal, corn, fish, fruits, machinery, rice, silk, and wool.
Global Resources - Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
Multi-disciplinary
Global Resource Network is a collaborative initiative of CRL and higher academic research institutions to support international studies.
India, Raj and Empire
History
The collection is particularly relevant to historians studying: the British Indian Empire; government, administration and politics, the relationship between Britain and the British Indian Empire, the relationship between the British Indian Empire and Indian Princely States.
Intelex Past Masters
Humanities Philosophy
A collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy. It includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics.
Inter-University for Political and Social Research
Social Sciences
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954
Ethnic Studies History Religion
A resource for scholars and students interested in understanding and exploring the history of Jewish communities in the United States of America from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to the integral part that they play today.
London Low Life
History Sociology
Full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps, and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London (England); Material includes: Fast literature, Penny fiction, Street Views, Chapbooks, Street Cries, Swell's guides to London prostitution, Tourist guides, and the manuscripts of George Gissing.
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963
History
Provides access to documents from the highest level of the British Government during the Macmillan Administration, 1957-1963.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965
Business History Psychology Sociology
Provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer. The collection is a treasure trove of information on some of America’s best known brands.
Mass Observation Online
History Sociology
Examines everyday British life in the 1930s and 1940s, papers of the Mass Observations Organization.
Medical Services and Warfare 1850-1927
History
Focusing on medical advances across conflicts, the resource includes documents from the Crimean War, the second Boer War, the American Civil War, the First World War and inter- and post-war periods.
Medieval Family Life
Family Studies History
Only five major letter collections, those of the Paston, Stonor, Plumpton, Armburgh, and Cely families, exist from 15th century England made available digitally for the first time.
Medieval Travel Writing
History
An extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing.
Musical Engravings in l'Illustration (Paris, 1843-1899)
Music
A collection of engravings published in L'illustration, between the years 1843 and 1899.
National Theatre Collection
Theatre
A digital resource combining playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays, including performances from the The National Theatre in the UK.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories
Genealogy History
A personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada with personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories from 1840 to the present.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Anthropology First Nations Studies Genealogy
Includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories.
North American Theatre Online
Theatre
Hundreds of thousands of records with rich information about authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts, and related information.
North American Women's Drama
Theatre Women’s Studies
Full-text plays written from colonial times to the present by women from the United States and Canada.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Genealogy History
A large collection of women's diaries and correspondence from Colonial times to 1950, providing a detailed record of what women and their lives.
Oral History Online
Genealogy History
A landmark index to English language oral histories, with indexed oral histories that are publicly available on the Web, held by repositories, and archives around the world.
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700
History Literature Women’s Studies
"Perdita" means "lost woman". The database identifies and describes all manner of manuscript writing by early modern women in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries from diaries to works of drama.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
History Political Science Sociology
Material relating to the social and cultural history of Britain and America during a period of 1950 and 1975. This resource offers access key topics and major events of the period.
Research Methods Primary Resources
Humanities Social Sciences
An online learning tool for primary source literacy that can be used in classroom-based and online teaching, as well as for independent study.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926
History Literature Political Science Religion Women’s Studies
Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
SAGE Online
Humanities Medical Science Science Social Sciences
A collection of peer-reviewed journals in various fields all published by SAGE. Includes abstracts and table of contents of all Sage published journals and provides full text access to subscribed titles.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
History
Original manuscripts and rare printed materials.
Statista
Social Sciences
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. It contains extensive secondary statistics from national and international organizations.
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974
History Political Science
Provides complete files from The (British) National Archives, Kew, for the entire period of the Nixon administration, 1969-1974.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History
History Women’s Studies
Women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University from 1818 to the 1970s.
Victorian Manuscripts (Berg) from the New York Public Library
Literature
Authors include: Matthew Arnold, the Brontes, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad. Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, William Makepeace Thackeray.
Victorian Popular Culture: A Portal
History Sociology
Collection of rare books, ephemera and visual material relating to the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, American, and Europe in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Virginia Company Archives
Business Economics History
This collection provides a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America. It documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (basic edition)
History Women’s Studies
Contains thousands of exhaustively indexed pages of books, pamphlets, and related materials that provide in-depth access to the published histories and records of women's reform organizations in the United States.
Women in The National Archives
History Women’s Studies
This resource is comprised of a finding aid to women's studies resources in the (British) National Archives, Kew and original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire, and colonial territories.
